Harald Lesch and the Merlin Ensemble Vienna

What do eight classical musicians of the Merlin Ensemble Vienna undertake with astrophysicist Harald Lesch?
A journey through space and time. The "Four Seasons" by Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741), composed three hundred years ago in 1720, provide us with an annual ticket and an environmental ticket between earth and orbit with a minimal CO2 footprint. Lesch and Vivaldi take us on a musical and scientific journey through time, beginning with the formation of the Earth and its seasons and ending with the current climate change.

At the end, Harald Lesch looks at the dramatic changes of the earth and our climate from orbit - until the apocalypse? Current day politics are not spared either.


Harald Lesch, narrator
Martin Walch, solo violin and conductor of the Merlin Ensemble Vienna

Ingrid Friedrich, violin
Cornelia Lörcher, violin
Mechtild Sommer, viola
Luis Zorita, violoncello
Yosef Avraham, double bass
Allen Smith, bassoon
Daniela Fietzek, harpsichord

Duration: approx. 90 minutes without intermission

Venue: Assembly Hall of the New University

In the framework of the International Science Festival - Geist Heidelberg

On the evening before (Fri, 5.11.) you can already experience Harald Lesch in the context of a lecture.
Concert and lecture can be booked individually or as part of a Combitickets ticket can be booked. Please note the different price models.

Back to overview


Date: 06.11.2021

Time: 20:00


'The Four Seasons' in climate change